Theft crimes can come in a variety of forms and cover a broad range of severity. NRS 205.240 describes petit larceny (petit theft) as the theft of property or money that is less than $250 in value. The penalties for petit larceny usually involve fines, restitution to victims, and enrollment in petit larceny school. Grand larceny is described in NRS 2205.220 as the theft of property or money that is valued at higher than $250, and it can be met with penalties that include restitution to victims, up to $10,000 in fines, and up to 10 years in prison.
Other examples of theft include, but are not limited to, the following:
Some of these crimes may be charged as misdemeanors or felonies depending on the circumstances and amount of money involved. Aggravating circumstances can result in enhanced charges and heavier penalties. Attempted theft can also be cause for prosecution and carry weighty penalties. In certain cases, deportation may be a potential consequence for non-citizens.
At Okabe & Haushalter, we can fight aggressively to protect your rights and freedom. Our thorough review and investigation of your case can often turn up facts and evidence that may be used in your defense. Each case is different and we can bring a fresh outlook and a creative approach. It is sometimes possible for us to have charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Where penalties are involved, we can negotiate on your behalf in an attempt to achieve leniency and help you avoid the heavier potential consequences. If you are charged with a theft crime, it important you exercise your right to remain silent so that you don’t unwittingly incriminate yourself. Don’t make any statements about your case without an attorney present.
Contact a Las Vegas theft defense attorney from our firm right away for legal assistance!
California has a “zero tolerance” standard when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Under the “Zero Tolerance Law,” legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for minors is significantly lower than that which is acceptable for a driver over 21. Pursuant to California Vehicle Codes, there are three basic, actionable offenses with increasing severity of penalty for an underage driver.
As a point of reference for most, a BAC of 0.01% means drinking:
As with a driver over 21, the underage driver faces two separate prosecutions: one with the DMV that can suspend or revoke their license and one with the criminal court.
In addition to these penalties, the underage driver:
Underage drivers with DUI charges need the immediate counsel of Okabe & Haushalter. Our firm understands the law and consequences to a younger driver’s education and career opportunities.
If you are under the age of 21, you can face an automatic driver’s license suspension of a year or a delay of your privilege if you do not have a driver’s license. This is a civil offense and therefore, the California Department of Motor Vehicles will enforce your penalties. If you wish to fight your license suspension, you will have to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of the arrest.
Many underage DUI cases can result in serious negative effects of the future of the minor. For those who have a BAC of 0.05% or higher, it is considered an infraction. Punishment will increase with each subsequent conviction and the BAC level. In addition to paying penalties of the zero-tolerance law, you will also be required to pay criminal penalties.
This is an issue that should be handled with the legal assistance of a San Francisco DUI attorney. An underage DUI is a serious situation that may damage a minor’s chance of getting a job or going to college. We are experienced in handling underage DUI cases and are prepared to help you pursue your rights. If you need assistance defending your criminal charges, it is important to speak with an attorney at once. Our lawyer has hands on trial experience as a former prosecutor for the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office. We offer you insight and legal knowledge.